Monday, May 12, 2008

ACS Club Receives 2006-07 Honorable Mention

The Student Affiliate American Chemical Society of IUP (aka the ACS Club) was recognized by the National American Chemical Society for its performance and contributions during the 2006-07 academic year. The chapter was awarded the Honorable Mention Chapter Award. This is the first national award that the chapter has received.

At the end of each academic year, the club's officers submit a written report to the national organization and are evaluated on several criteria by faculty advisor volunteers from across the country. Example criteria include active members, local activities, money raised and donated, and participation in local, regional, and national meetings.

The 2006-07 Club Officers were:
  • Mr. Joe Zewe, President
  • Ms. Sara Krull, Vice-President
  • Ms. Kaycie Butler, Secretary
  • Ms. Elizabeth Paladin, Treasurer
With this award came many constructive ideas for improvement so that the chapter may improve to Commendable or the top recognition, Outstanding Chapter. The report for the 2007-08 academic year will be submitted this month.

Congratulations to the Class of 2008!!

On Saturday, May 10, the chemistry department held its own graduation ceremony in 208 Weyandt Hall. Both undergraduate and graduate students who've completed their respective degrees, their families and friends, and department faculty met at 8:45 for a small program to recognize these students and their achievements.

The faculty, staff, and students of the IUP chemistry department would like to congratulate the following students and wish them well in their future endeavors:

Bachelor of Science:
  • Ms. Amanda Davis (Dec. '07)
  • Mr. Cassidy McCurdy
  • Ms. Nicole Morozowich
Bachelor of Arts:
  • Ms. Jane Calvert
  • Mr. John Crandall
Bachelor of Science in Chemistry Education:
  • Ms. Amanda Davis (Dec. '07)
  • Mr. Michael Deible
  • Ms. Catherine McCue (Dec. '07)
  • Ms. Amy Trexler
  • Ms. Carly Yonish (Dec. '07)
Master of Science:
  • Mr. Einstein Djabeng (Aug. '08)
  • Mr. Jeff Rupert (Aug. '08)
  • Mr. Sean Smith
  • Ms. Dongmei Zhang

Dr. John Woolcock opened the ceremony with some general remarks, followed by a commencement speech in which he read "Oh, The Places You'll Go!" by Dr. Seuss. Afterwards, he presented each of the graduates present with a diploma holder and read highlights of their achievements and future plans. During each presentation, a slide was shown with each graduate's picture and biography; this show was created by Dr. Lourdes Herold.

After each student was recognized, a 5-minute long slide show (by Dr. Herold) accompanied by music was presented to the audience. It included a montage of the graduates, their colleagues, faculty & staff, and scenes of Weyandt and chemistry activities during the past few years.

Following the ceremony, families and friends gathered for photographs and refreshments before heading to the university's graduation ceremony in Miller Stadium.

In a similar ceremony in Keith Hall, the following graduates of the Biochemistry program were also recognized:

Bachelor of Science:
  • Ms. Brittany Baird
  • Mr. Robert Bauer
  • Ms. Kaycie Butler
  • Mr. Tony Scatena

Monday, May 5, 2008

Department Graduate Coordinator Elected

The Chemistry Department has elected Dr. Keith Kyler as its Graduate Program Coordinator for a three-year term, which will expire April 30, 2011.

Congratulations Keith!