Monday, May 12, 2008

ACS Club Receives 2006-07 Honorable Mention

The Student Affiliate American Chemical Society of IUP (aka the ACS Club) was recognized by the National American Chemical Society for its performance and contributions during the 2006-07 academic year. The chapter was awarded the Honorable Mention Chapter Award. This is the first national award that the chapter has received.

At the end of each academic year, the club's officers submit a written report to the national organization and are evaluated on several criteria by faculty advisor volunteers from across the country. Example criteria include active members, local activities, money raised and donated, and participation in local, regional, and national meetings.

The 2006-07 Club Officers were:
  • Mr. Joe Zewe, President
  • Ms. Sara Krull, Vice-President
  • Ms. Kaycie Butler, Secretary
  • Ms. Elizabeth Paladin, Treasurer
With this award came many constructive ideas for improvement so that the chapter may improve to Commendable or the top recognition, Outstanding Chapter. The report for the 2007-08 academic year will be submitted this month.

No comments: